Early Childhood Education

The Early Childhood Education program offers services to help promote early literacy, family strengthening, school readiness, and quality education for children birth through Pre-K. There are many exciting events for children and families throughout the year! Children are required to have an Educational Release on file to participate.

Honoring Our Mothers Brunch
Sunday, May 6
Community Center

Gwikwé'amen

The Early Childhood Education program offers workshops named Gwikwé'amen. The verb "gwikwé'amen" talks about us wrapping a child in a blanket as a symbol of love and devotion. This comes from our hearts and the desire to take care of each other. It is our job to look out for one another, especially our children.

 

Gwikwé'amen Connecting Generations
Saturday, Mar 17 | 11am
Community Center

Spring Into Your Local Library
Saturday, May 12  | 10am
Dowagiac District Library | 211 Commercial St.

Gwikwé'amen Holly Fair
Saturday, Dec. 1 | 11am

 

Early Childhood Education Events

Débénwéthêk Parent Group
In Potawatomi, Débénwéthêk means the ones who take care of others. The goal of Débénwéthêk Parent Group is to develop opportunities for Pokagon families to spend quality time with one another and create meaningful experiences together.

Débénwéthêk Parent Group is composed of parents and caregivers of children under 8 years of age and meets every third Wednesday of the month from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Childcare is provided.

For more information, please contact Rachel Orvis at drorvis@gmail.com.

Family Movie Night (Happy Feet)
Friday, Feb. 9 | 7pm 
Community Center

Air Zoo
Saturday, April 14

Family Movie Night
Friday, May 11 | 7pm
Community Center

Penojé Prom
Saturday, May 19

Family Picnic
Saturday, June 23

Hackers Family Day
Saturday, July 28

Family Movie Night
Friday, August 10 | 7pm
Community Center

Touch A Truck
Saturday, August 18

Binder Zoo
Saturday, September 8

Nature Center
Saturday, September 29

Harvest Day
Saturday, Oct 6

Family Movie Night
Friday, Nov. 9 | 7pm
Community Center

Neshnabé mbokén
First Wednesday of each month (begins Sept. 6)
4 p.m.–5 p.m.
Dowagiac District Library

Neshnabé mbokén is a children's book club, which will have a focus on Native American books & authors. This program is open to the public and welcomes all ages to attend. Kindly RSVP to be entered to win a raffle. Must be present to win

PALS (Play and Learn Social)
Join other parents and children ages 0–8 for an opportunity to engage with one another in play and learning activities every first Tuesday and third Thursday of the month from 9:30 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. Location varies, but the group generally meets in the PHS Multi-Purpose Room. For more information, please contact Rachel Orvis at drorvis@gmail.com.

Join us in August to learn about Deer and Bravery! Themes are based on Medicine Wheel Teachings.

Practice the "Bozho Song" with your child(ren) at home! Just play the video below.

Bozho Song from Pokagon Band on Vimeo.

*These gatherings will be cancelled due to extreme weather in accordance with Dowagiac Schools, if they issue a delay or if they cancel school altogether.